The Pokémon Company reported more than five million Pokémon Pokopia copies sold worldwide in its first four months, including digital sales.

What the source confirms

The Pokémon Company and Nintendo said Pokopia had sold more than five million copies worldwide during the four months after its March 5 global release.

The company attributed the figure to Nintendo data and said it included digital versions; the announcement does not provide a platform-region breakdown.

The same release described the paid Expansion Pass, with Bubbly Basin Part One already released on August 5 and additional parts planned for winter 2026 and 2027.

Why it matters

The milestone is a publisher-reported sell-through figure, not a public audit or player count. It establishes broad commercial reach over a defined opening period while leaving important questions unanswered: how sales were distributed across countries, how many owners bought add-on content and how the game’s audience changed over time.

What the Five-Million Figure Counts

The announcement describes more than five million copies sold worldwide over the first four months after the March 5 release and says digital versions are included. That definition matters: the number is a publisher-reported copy total, not a count of active players, households, or people who completed the game. It also does not disclose how the total divides among regions or formats. Readers should keep the unit as copies sold and preserve the four-month window rather than turning the milestone into a broader claim about ongoing engagement.

A sales milestone can show commercial reach, but it cannot explain why customers bought the game or whether they continue playing. The announcement does not connect the total to a specific feature, marketing campaign, or review response. Those explanations would need separate evidence. It is reasonable to say that the companies reported a strong early sales total; it would go beyond the statement to attribute that result to one cause.

The number is also time-bounded. It records the period named in the announcement, not a lifetime total or an estimate for the next year. If the companies later report another milestone, the date and measurement window should be included so readers can compare like with like. A later total may reflect different markets and sales channels. The original four-month figure remains useful when reported as an early snapshot.

A Game Milestone and an Expansion Pass Are Separate Stories

The same release mentions the paid Expansion Pass, but the sales total and the add-on should not be treated as one product metric. The announcement says Bubbly Basin Part One was released August 5 and that additional parts were planned for winter 2026 and 2027. It does not state how many buyers purchased the pass or whether expansion sales are included in the five-million figure. Keeping those measures separate avoids implying that the game’s copy total includes an unknown number of add-on purchases.

For a current player, the dated part of the expansion announcement is more immediately useful than its sales context. Someone considering the pass should verify the contents and regional terms in the current store listing, especially because the later parts were described as future plans. The August release date establishes the announced availability of Part One, but the article should not infer what the later installments will contain unless the source specifies it.

The two topics still belong together in a news report because they appeared in the same company communication. Their connection is editorial rather than statistical: one concerns reported reach, the other future content. A clear article can explain both while resisting the temptation to claim that the expansion caused the sales milestone or that buyers purchased it in a particular proportion.

The Expansion Schedule Does Not Explain the Sales Milestone

The announcement places the Expansion Pass beside the five-million-copy milestone, but that proximity does not show that one caused the other. The sales figure covers the base game’s reported copies sold, while the pass is a separate paid offer with released and planned parts. The source summary does not provide pass sales or an attachment rate.

Readers should therefore keep the commercial milestone and content schedule as two facts from one communication. The first describes reported reach during a four-month window; the second describes additional content timing. A later company update could connect them with new data, but the current article should not imply a relationship that has not been measured.

What readers should consider

Players evaluating the Expansion Pass should separate the sales milestone from the DLC purchase decision. The announcement distinguishes the first paid part from the free Dive update and lists later content at a high level. Check the store for exact bundle terms and what each scheduled part includes before buying.

Evidence and limitations

The source is an official joint company statement. It does not publish methodology beyond Nintendo data and the inclusion of digital copies, nor does it report revenue, refunds, active users or physical-versus-digital mix. The planned 2027 content remains a roadmap, not released content.

What to watch next

A later company sales update could show whether momentum continued, while future DLC listings can confirm scope and price. Keep the first-four-month window attached to the five-million figure and do not relabel it as lifetime sales without a later source.